State of the Union, and A Wedding Recap

14 Mar

The Union being me. You guys, whatever bacteria or viruses are currently taking up residence in my body, they are trying to kill me! It would probably help if I would just rest for a bit, but no! No! There’s life to be lived! Speaking of which…

Rob and Kate are married! It was a lovely wedding (although I’ll admit to giggling a bit when that bit of Corinthians was read… ha!). I danced like a total fool whenever they played a song I liked. I think I’ve forgotten how to dance any other way. Steve and I requested our song from the dj, but he didn’t have it… which I thought was weird, because in my opinion it’s the Ultimate Love Song, and while The Luckiest certainly never achieved the heights of mainstream popularity that sayyy, Everything I Do by Bryan Adams or Still The One by Shania Twain happened to achieve, it’s not like Ben Folds Five was some under the radar indie band. As such, we forced it upon everyone in attendance and provided the dj with a cd. So in the end, Steve and I danced to our song for the first time since our own wedding 6 months ago and that alone was enough to make my night.

The only slight downside was the fact that I got a bit tipsier than I’d intended. One of the parent’s speeches was really, really, really, really long, so our table created a drinking game from it. Hey, I never claimed to be classy. Thankfully all I had to drink was white wine, and for some reason white wine never leaves me with much of a hangover. I am, however, arguably more ill than I was yesterday, so all things considered, I still learned my lesson.

Oh, and the blue dress garnered me my fair share of compliments! There’s something to be said for stepping outside of your comfort zone, clothing-wise, every once in awhile.

Just for fun, I leave you with the playlist from Steve’s and my wedding. Because quite frankly, our music selections kicked ass:

Processional: I’ll Be There by The Jackson 5 (bridal party) and To Make You Feel My Love by Adele (for me)
Interlude: First Day of My Life by Bright Eyes
Recessional: Do You Realize by The Flaming Lips
Introduction of the bridal party: The Final Countdown by Europe
Introduction of the couple: All You Need Is Love by The Beatles
Cake-cutting song: Love You Madly by Cake
First dance: The Luckiest by Ben Folds Five
Parents’ dance: You Make Me Feel So Young by Frank Sinatra
Bouquet toss: Marry Me by Dolly Parton
Garter toss: Business Time by Flight of the Conchords

Go make a playlist of it!

Leave a Reply

