still ill, but weddings are fun!

12 Mar

Guuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuh.

I’m still siiiiiiiiiiiiiiick.

Thankfully, the girls at work have been merciful, covering some shifts for me, sending me home early, and so on and so forth. In the meantime, I’ve been watching movies between long sleeping spells. Can I just tell you, I’m really sorry I didn’t watch Penelope sooner, and want to buy the dvd.

Tomorrow, Steven and I will be attending a wedding, which I am super duper excited for. It’s the first wedding we’ll have attended since our own and it’s taking place exactly one week in advance of our 6 monthiversary, as it were (I cannot bring myself to call it a “6 month anniversary” because the “anni” part of that word necessarily implies at least a year having passed, and 6 months does not a year make. So, “monthiversary”). I’m excited. I love weddings so much. Basically all I want to do at any time ever is be at a wedding. Even the terrible ones are fantastic because, let’s face it, I’m lightweight enough to get pleasantly tipsy on the 2.5 glasses of wine per person that are generally budgeted by the newlyweds. So I pretty much always have a great time, no matter what.

Nothing will ever top our own wedding though. Nothing. I’ve been to plenty of weddings where they fall back on 1 Corinthians 13 for the reading. Our reading was about dinosaurs in love. Most people have their first dance in a reception hall. Ours was on a tiny island in the middle of a lake surrounded by candles. Ben Folds Five’s “The Luckiest” played while fireworks (!!) shot off overhead. We had the perfect day. I think every person probably has a finite amount of perfect days allocated to them in their life. My wedding day was one of mine. Ahhhh, I miss it sometimes.

In any event, tomorrow will be somebody else’s perfect day, and I’m excited I get to be there for it! I’m excited to wear my blue dress and shiny new shoes that are being stretched out as we speak (if I can offer you one bit of advice, let it be this: INVEST IN A PAIR OF SHOE STRETCHERS). I’m excited to dance and dance and dance no matter how terrible the music is, because let’s face it, it doesn’t matter how cool the couple is, the music is pretty much always terrible; it’s still fun. I’m excited to eat delicious food. I’m excited to hear their vows. I’m excited to see my friend in her dress (I don’t know what to expect). I’m excited to look at the groom’s face as she walks into the room, and if they allow pictures during the ceremony, I might try and snap a picture of it. I’m a little sad I can’t get up to try and catch the bouquet.

YAY WEDDINGS!

Leave a Reply

