I Have Come To Voice A Potentially Unpopular Opinion

17 Feb

Hi, blog. You know me. I tend to shy away from the particularly incendiary topics. But there’s one that lately, I just can’t let go of…

Is there anybody out there who has yet to see the footage of Nodar Kumaritashvili’s fatal crash? Who the hell made the decision to make that footage public, and when do they issue the public apology? I thought it was incredibly disrespectful of any media outlet to air that footage, especially given the slow motion replay that they so delightfully treated their hapless viewers to.

Yes, it was a big news story, but did any of us actually need to see it replayed over and over and over again? Having unwittingly seen it, believing I was about to watch a video of the scene of the accident and a report on the incident, as opposed to the actual accident itself, I swear you can pinpoint the moment he loses his life. There’s no blood or gore, but it’s one of the most tragic, horrific scenes that I have ever witnessed.

It makes me wonder, do we not realize what we’re watching? No disrespect meant here, but it makes me think about that book The Hunger Games that I loved so very much. In The Hunger Games, competitors fight to the death for the amusement of spectators. Call me overdramatic, but hearing people talk about seeing that footage without so much as blinking an eye, even going so far as to graphically describe what they saw, well, it makes me feel like we’re really past the point of no return here. Watching a human being die is not “interesting” or amusing, nor do I think it’s particularly newsworthy, and I don’t much care to see it. Show the scene, hell, show me the aftermath once all the emergency vehicles have cleared out, but don’t show me the precise moment that a human being dies.

I wonder how many people watched that footage without ever really processing the fact that that’s what they were seeing. That wasn’t just another viral video. It’s practically a snuff film, as far as I’m concerned.

Maybe I’m overreacting. It just really seems to me like this was death as a spectator sport, and I cannot express how sad and sick that makes me feel.

2 Responses to “I Have Come To Voice A Potentially Unpopular Opinion”

  1. Hella Stella February 19, 2010 at 3:05 am #

    I saw it twice and nearly hurled on my desk. Then I complained to the station that aired it. I still can’t quite get it out of my mind.

    • beeks February 19, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

      Right?? It’s arguably the most horrifying thing I’ve ever seen on tv.

Leave a Reply

