You Guyyyyyys… I’m Borrrrrrrred.

4 Feb

Oh, hello February rut.

Every year, around this time, I have a little phase where I feel like my skin is constantly crawling. I feel like I’m literally itching for new projects and new adventures. There’s usually some sort of stumbling point, though. Lack of money, lack of time, lack of motivation, some combination thereof.

This year I’m doing prep work. I have a hard time getting anything done if my surroundings aren’t at least minimally organized. Today I finally finished unpacking everything in the bedroom. Keep in mind, we moved here in August. Yikes. I think I’ve mentioned before how we never really settled in because we see this place as a temporary dwelling… hopefully very temporary… but that doesn’t negate the fact that we had to sign a one year lease. It finally clicked that even under the best possible circumstances, we’re still going to be stuck here for months. So while I’m not going to shell out the cash (and time) to paint the place, I suppose I can, in the very least, get things put away and hang pictures up on the walls.

Once the place is cleaned up, my major desires are to learn to sew and draw. I have this concept for a comic strip that’s been incubating in my brain for more than a year now, but the fact that I don’t have even the most rudimentary of artistic skills prevents me from making it a reality. Part of me feels like drawing is probably one of those things that you either can or cannot do, but what the hell. No harm in trying to improve.

I also want to spend some quality time with my old guitar. I’ve barely touched the thing in years, which is funny when you think about how much it meant to me when I was a teenager. In any event, The All-Acoustic Fun Time Michael Jackson Revue was a nice idea, but I lack the skills to execute it. Maybe next year? Maybe by summer, if I genuinely commit to practicing? Maybe maybe, always maybe…

I can’t wait for April. I need some warmth.

Leave a Reply

