Now Entering My 29th Year…

19 Jan

I’m 28 today!

I think that means I’m supposed to be a grown up. I’m supposed to be thinking about mortgages and paying into an rrsp fund and what not. I’m supposed to be embarking upon my career. I’m not supposed to be flitting about from hobby to hobby or subsisting on a diet based of mainly candy.

And yet, here we are.

People tend to think I’m a lot younger than I am. Sometimes I worry about that (“oh god what if I’m too immature to ever hold down a real job?”) but more often than not, I appreciate it. It makes me feel like my brain isn’t aging as quickly as my body, and that sounds like a good deal to me. Grown ups are boring. Steve and I went to this wedding once, and the reception was held looooooong after the ceremony, so a bunch of us went out to lunch. Everybody there was about my age but they just all seemed so dull, talking about investments, not seeming too terribly excited or enthusiastic about anything… if that’s what it means to be a grown up, and if that’s what I’m supposed to be now that I’ve taken 28 spins around the sun, well, thanks, but I reject the offer.

In any event, this has been the best birthday of my life. Sunday was fantastic, what with Steve cooking up a delicious feast and me being showered with wonderful presents and all. Monday was fun too, because my shift at work got knocked down by an hour and a half, so I got to have a nice relaxing morning, and then at work I was treated to a London Fog and given gifts of candy and chocolate biscuits. Which brings us to today. I opened Steve’s presents at midnight (he got me a Graham tartan scarf and the remaining Scott Pilgrim books that were not already in my collection) and then slept in ’til around noon. At one, my mom took me out and got me even more wonderful things (two sweaters, a purse, a wallet, a bunch of wool for knitting, a rotary cutter to help me with my sewing, and a lilac scented candle; I bought myself a black skirt and an infinity scarf). And tomorrow, Steve is going to come downtown with me and I’m going to spend a very generous gift card from my parents.

I hope I never become the sort of person who hates their birthday. I love birthdays, mine and other people’s. Who cares if your body is getting older? You’re free to have a child-like mindset for as long as you live.

2 Responses to “Now Entering My 29th Year…”

  1. Hella Stella January 20, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    A very happy birthday to you!

    • beeks January 25, 2010 at 1:41 am #

      Thanks, it was a positively delightful day!

      In other news, MY BUILDING WAS JUST ON FIRE!! WHAAAAAT??

Leave a Reply

