So It Turns Out, Life Is More Fun When You Live It…

7 Jan

This first week of January has absolutely flown by. I attribute this, at least in part, to the fact that I’m actually trying to stick to my resolutions this year. Usually I just make a half-hearted list in the front page of a new notebook, of things I’d like to do with my life but somehow never actually get around to doing. Scratch that, things that I never even get started on doing. This year, at least I’ve started, and I’m feeling really good about that.

Today was a good day. It was capped off by drinking absinthe with friends, which was an experience unto itself. And I’m not talking about that fake, neon green “absinth” stuff, either. I’m talking about the real deal, hallucinogenic properties and all. Not that we drank enough for that to really get to us… but regardless, I just feel like drinking absinthe is something that a person has to try. And now I have.

I have read my first book of 2010, incidentally. It was The Wakefields of Sweet Valley. Yes, the Sweet Valley saga. I have no shame! It had the most insane, ridiculous, awesome plot and I’m very happy to have revisited that particular part of my childhood. I cracked up the first time somebody was described as speaking “huskily.” I remember all of the Sweet Valley books I ever read always having a moment during which somebody spoke in a husky tone… just like I remember all of the Babysitter’s Club books making reference to things being “sophisticated.” I wonder if either series is available in French. I feel like it would be fun to re-read those books, as they played such a large role in my childhood, and maybe I could pick up some vocab words along the way.

Tomorrow I have a blissfully short shift at work ahead of me, and then I’m going to come home and spend the evening with Steve. It’s funny, ever since we got married, I feel like we see a lot less of each other. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

