New Year’s Peeves.

2 Jan

I try to avoid posting overly grouchy things, but sometimes a girl’s just gotta vent. With that said…

1) It’s actually not a new decade yet. A decade is 10 years. 0 – 10. Or rather, I suppose we could think of it as a new decade if you consider the decade as having begun in 1999, but nobody does that. We all wanted to pretend that the new millennium began in 2000 in spite of the fact that it actually began in 2001… hell, even I was on board with that one; I think it had to do with shifting from 19 to 20… but I say calling it a new decade at the beginning of 2010 is going too far! The end of the decade is next year, people. Next year.

2) I’ve been guilty of this myself in the past, but does anyone else find it silly how people say things like “this is going to be my year!” or “here’s hoping this year is better than the last!” every year around this time? I don’t believe years can be inherently good or bad; it’s all in how you use your time, and how you react to the sucky situations that life will inevitably hand you from time to time. No offense meant to people who have said things like that, but I just don’t understand what you expect to happen. Just as an example, in 2008, I was proposed to. In 2009, I got married. Pretty exciting stuff, right? Right. But both years on the whole? Kinda sucky, overall. Yes, I hope 2010 will be better, but I’m fully cognizant of the fact that if I want it to be better, I have to work toward that. It won’t just happen.

I feel better now.

Leave a Reply

