Buckley’s vs. Benylin: Your Definitive Conclusion (based on my personal experience and opinions).

10 Dec

Apparently a lot of people are finding my blog by searching “Benylin vs. Buckley.” I gave both brands a namecheck during my bout with swine flu, but didn’t really go into a detailed review of either. Thus, I am here now to elaborate fully on my opinion of Benylin vs. Buckley’s.

FLAVOUR.

Buckley’s: I’ve noted in the past that even though the slogan for Buckley’s is “it tastes awful, and it works,” I don’t personally find it that bad. It’s mildly unpleasant, to be sure, but overwhelmingly it just tastes of pine trees. You feel as though you are imbibing something natural and wholesome that will cure you of all ills. Remember though, it’s fundamentally sap and drugs.

Benylin: Tastes like sugar sweetened death. Like tasting the scent of formaldehyde with a candy coating. I honestly don’t know what flavour they were aiming for here. Usually, the sweeter cough remedies aim for “cherry” or “grape,” but this just tastes like a Mary Poppins’ spoonful of sugar gone wrong.

APPEARANCE AND VISCOSITY.

Buckley’s: I am not going to sugar-coat this. It reminds me of semen every time I pour out a spoonful. There. The truth is out there. That is to say, it’s an off-white, slightly milky in appearance, slightly thick sort of goo.

Benylin: The screaming bright red colour does nothing to assuage my feeling that this is indeed some sort of nuclear byproduct. Viscosity is normal for cough syrup; runny yet thick enough to be sticky.

NEED A CHASER?

Buckley’s: I don’t. Husband does. They recommend mixing it with equal parts honey if you can’t man up and take it straight. One thing I do not recommend is following a hit of Buckley’s with a serving of orange juice. Just trust me on this one.

Benylin: Husband doesn’t. I do. In fact, I needed to brush my teeth.

EFFECTIVNESS IN CALMING COUGH.

Buckley’s: Hours upon hours of relief. Cough does not disappear, but rather, becomes tolerable. Relief is felt for 4 – 6 hours (at which time you are conveniently allowed another dosage).

Benylin: Mere moments. It was about 10 minutes before I was coughing my throat raw all over again. But you’re not allowed a second dose after just 10 minutes. So in that regard, Benylin kind of screwed me.

EFFECTIVENESS IN TREATING OTHER SYMPTOMS.

Buckley’s: No such benefits noticed. It clears your head a bit after you first take a dose, but after that, it’s really only the cough that goes away. Aches and chills remain.

Benylin: Well well well. Point Benylin! This is the area where Benylin excels. Although I didn’t notice any real effect on calming my cough, Benylin is definitely a soothing product in other regards. After taking it, a pleasant warm sensation came over me and while I was still achey, it didn’t bother me quite as much.

OVERALL:

Duh. Buckley’s takes it.

Of course, in all fairness, everybody is going to react differently to different drugs and just because I find the taste of pine trees more palatable than that of medicine doesn’t mean you will agree. In truth, there’s probably no better medicine than lots of sleep and whatever your doctor deems appropriate for you. But for those of you (and I can see that there are many) who would rather resort to the internet for advice on Buckley’s vs. Benylin, there you have it.

It should go without saying that nobody ever pays me to say anything, but I’ll say it again: Everything you read here is based entirely on personal experience with products that I bought with my hard earned money.

Leave a Reply

