What You Need On A Sick Day.

11 Nov

Hi there.

I am so, so sick right now. I’m not sure if I have swine flu, pneumonia, or just a really bad common cold. But in any case, you wouldn’t want to come within a fifty foot radius of me right now.

I am a terrible sick person. I need somebody around to bring me blankets and tea and soup. I hate feeling unhealthy and find it really debilitating. So, on the offchance that I’m not the only person here who’s feeling a bit under the weather lately, here are the things I do to feel better on sick days. Further advice is welcome!

Hot baths.
Classic. I use Johnson’s Baby Bath “with soothing vapours” and it works a treat. It doesn’t hurt that it smells like rosemary, either. Mmm, rosemary…

Lots of fluids!
Just like the doctor ordered. I eat a lot of Campbell’s alphabet soup when I’m sick… sometimes with a pinch of cayenne pepper in it because spicy foods are supposed to be helpful for thinning out mucous. Ewwwwww, mucous.

Steam treatments.
Some people do these to “open their pores” (a complete fallacy, by the way), but I like it just to help me, y’know, breathe. I pour boiling water into a bowl, then drape a towel over my head, close my eyes, and let the steam do its thing. It’s also nice to add a few drops of essential oil… I like to blend eucalyptus, peppermint, and lavender… but be careful not to let it waft into your eyes!

Sleeping all day.
You’ll get through your illness a lot quicker if you just sleep through the bulk of it.

Buckley’s cough medicine.
Ironically, I think the original formula without the added drugs works better than the newer formulas with dexies in them. Their slogan is “It tastes awful, but it works.” Honestly, I don’t find it that bad, but maybe that’s just because I’ve been relying on it since I was a teenager? It has kind of a weird, pine-y taste, and I probably wouldn’t sit down to a shot of Buckley’s as an aperitif, but I’ve definitely tasted worse. Benylin, for one, whose slogan could easily be “It tastes awful and makes you feel better for all of five minutes.”

Vick’s Vaporub
Ahh, another childhood classic. This stuff breaks me out something fierce but the tingly coolness of it is totally worth it.

So that’s my current routine. Anybody out there have any great cold and flu remedies to share? Because I really really need one right now!

 

 

Disclaimer: If anybody out there is wondering, I purchased any and all products mentioned in this entry with my own hard earned money. Not that anyone thinks this blog is remotely important enough to have free stuff sent, but, y’know… just so we’re clear.

Leave a Reply

