My Makeshift Weekend.

4 Nov

Two days off work = weekend. I don’t care that it takes place on a Wednesday/Thursday!

My “weekends” always seem to go better when I make little lists of things I want to do, so let’s get to that, shall we?

+ Clean up a little bit.
+ Go visit my mom and her dog for a bit.
+ Walk over to Chapters/Starbucks and see if the new Nylon is on the stands yet. Drown my sorrows in a gingerbread latte when I inevitably discover that it’s not.
+ Work on my NaNoWriMo project. I took today off.
+ Go see This Is It with the girls from work.
+ Spend lots of time lounging around and reading.
+ Go to Cora’s with Steve and his parents.
+ Super fun special awesome hubby and wife time with Steve on Thursday!

The only potential setback is that tomorrow, my apartment is shutting down the water yet again. They circulated a memo to tenants saying that the water will be off from 9 a.m. until an indeterminate time! Jesus wheezus! They seem to do this at least once a month, and usually on my day off, which forces me to get up early so that I can shower. Grumble grumble…

Awesome parts of today include the following:

1, As I was walking to work, I saw a fellow traipsing down into a wooded area by a highway on ramp (where people aren’t supposed to walk). He seemed peculiar, in his large silver aviators and straw fedora (!!) so I thought, “Probably best to have my wits about me right now.” So, as I waited for the traffic to go by so I could cross the street, I pulled my ear buds out of my ears and wound them around my ipod for safekeeping. As I finished up my little chore and glanced back across to see what Straw Fedora was up to, I saw he was standing directly across from me (albeit at quite a distance) just sort of… watching me. Shadyyyyyy. So I carried on with my walk, but I threw a couple of glances back over my shoulder to see what was going on, and each time I looked back, he was looking right back at me. Honestly, what do you do in that situation? Do you call the cops to report that “somebody is acting generally creepy”? For all I know, dude just really had to empty his bladder and gets pee shy if he knows anyone is around. Or maybe dude has a lifeless body tucked away in those bushes… I dunno.

2, I discovered the girl guides in my troop regard me as “cool,” which is hilarious and misguided and also kind of awesome. This one girl was grilling me about my relationship with Steve… “Are you happy?,” that sort of stuff. Then she asked me if I “act all cool” around him. I told her she doesn’t know me very well if she thinks I’m cool, and that really I’m a big geek… she was utterly aghast and refused to believe it. Another girl presented me with a drawing that is ostensibly me with red hair, against a backdrop of the Girl Guide promise. I hung it on my fridge! Hee!

3, A shy puppy licked the palm of my hand in the elevator.

3.5, We have hilarious new elevators that have the interior of a bad night club. I’ll have to take pics.

 

Leave a Reply

