I’m In Love With NaNoWriMo.

3 Nov

I can’t shut up about NaNoWriMo because it is awesome.

Now, talk to me in a week or two and see if I’m still saying that. It’s only day 2, after all. But honestly, today I was sort of like, ennnnnh, I don’t really want to write today, ennnnnh, I have the whole month to work on it… but then I read a comment on my facebook page that was like, “what’s this I hear about you writing a book?” and I got right back to it. My self-discipline is decidedly lacking. Apparently I need people checking up on me at all times.

I feel like I’m sort of cheating, to tell you the truth, because my book is based on a true story, something that happened at my school a couple years back. It’s triggered an ongoing debate about matters of free speech and such. I don’t want to go into too much detail, but suffice to say, if anyone ever read this book that I’m working on, it could definitely be potentially offensive. I feel kind of weird writing it, because it’s a fictionalized account of something deeply traumatic that actually happened to real people. I feel like it’s exploitative even though it’s not like it’s something I’ll ever make a profit off of. Is that weird? Do I just have a really bizarrely misplaced guilt complex?

Here’s something I’ve learned so far: Even though I love notebooks, particularly Moleskines, I am much more productive when I write on a computer. My writing muscles are out of shape. I don’t mean the figurative “writing muscles” that people sometimes refer to as a euphemism for imagination, I mean the actual, literal muscles that help you hold up a pen and manipulate it in such a way that letters appear when pen is pressed to paper. That said, I do think it’s partly because I type a lot faster than I write… so if I’m writing longhand, thoughts get lost. Typing, I’m really just dumping everything out of my brain, and I can sort through the wreckage later. From what I understand, a lot of people aren’t comfortable with that style of writing, but to tell you the truth, it’s the only style I’ve ever really enjoyed. Write now, fix later!

Anyway. Absolutely nothing else is really going on right now. I’m combatting a positively terrible mood lately, but that’s nothing you want to read about in great detail, I would assume. So for now, all I have on my mind is NaNoWriMo. NaNoWriMo, NaNoWriMo, NaNoWriMo! Hey, do you think it works like Beetlejuice, and if I say it three times, a novel appears? …Here’s hoping!

Oh, and in case you haven’t started writing your novel yet? It’s totally not too late to start! There’s still 28 days to go!

Leave a Reply

