Book Report – The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

29 Sep

This is one of those topics where I feel a little silly contributing my voice to the discussion. At this point, what is there to say about The Hunger Games that hasn’t already been said?

But contribute I must. Because this book was awesome.

Imagine a future in which the government is so strict that once a year, it hosts a reality television show in which contestants must fight to the death. There can be only one winner. Contestants can be as young as 12. The contest is naturally biased against the impoverished, and contestants have no preparation for whatever challenges may exist within the arena. It’s simple kill or be killed.

When I was younger and fell within the target demographic for young adult fiction, YA novels like this simply didn’t exist. They were all about boys or shopping or social aggression or the various trials and tribulations of high school. I have no problem with books like that, in truth, but I was living it. I didn’t want to read about it too. Back then, there was simply no young adult fiction that was this complex, or this dark… and make no mistake about it, this story is dark. I have frequent nightmares, but they’re usually peculiar things… all my teeth falling out, or Seth Green chasing me with a scythe while spitting bees out of his mouth (seriously). Never before have I had a nightmare due to the book I was reading before bed. And never before have I had a nightmare quite so bone-chillingly awful, might I add. I dreamed I was in The Hunger Games; I dreamed I was losing, and I woke up in a cold sweat.

The one thing that caught me about this book: Toward the end, the remaining two contestants hatch a plot that, had it not been a ruse to begin with, could have devalued The Hunger Games and stopped it in its tracks. It would have come at great personal cost, but it would have been a fantastic coup. However, it would have left little room for a sequel. From what I understand, The Hunger Games is the first in a trilogy. So, while I actually found it a little disappointed that the last two standing didn’t put an end to The Hunger Games once and for all, I also understand that the author has more of a story to tell. I look forward to reading the follow ups.

Buy it, buy it, buy it.

2 Responses to “Book Report – The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins”

  1. DennisVega September 30, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

    • beeks October 19, 2009 at 3:22 am #

      Hi, thank you for the nice comment! And sorry if it took me awhile to get back to you, I just realized I had some comments marked as spam that shouldn’t necessarily have been there. I appreciate you taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

