Weird Reaction.

8 Sep

My wedding is creeping ever closer, and there are tons of little details that still need getting done…

…and all I feel like doing is watching makeup tutorials on YouTube.

Why? What for? I don’t even wear that much makeup! I mean, sure, I follow a handful of beauty blogs at the best of times, and I’ve been known to search “smokey eye technique” before a big event… but right now, makeup tips are consuming my life. I doubt I’ll implement any of them. I just can’t… stop… watching.

Isn’t that bizarre??!? I thought it was.

2 Responses to “Weird Reaction.”

  1. Adam M September 12, 2009 at 4:19 am #

    Don’t do it!!!

    Follow your natural instincts and just amp them up a bit so that your natural features are visible from a distance and in photos.

    You know? A slightly bolder version of your natural lip color, maybe with some shine, don’t go too far with your blush and eyeshadow and whatnot. You want to look like the freshest version of yourself to people who are looking at you from far away. So if you’re not a makeup type don’t be suckered in.

    Super-makeup and hair looks that aren’t a match for your personality is the number one way that people end up with wedding photos that they laugh at fifteen years later.

    You want your wedding photos to remind you of how pretty you were on your wedding day, not to be able to make the editors of In Style look at them and say “Aaah… I see you got married in Fall 2009”.

    • beeks September 12, 2009 at 1:53 pm #

      Ah ha ha ha that’s exactly what I’ve been saying to people about why I had to grow my bangs over sideways again right now, because people seem to really like me with the c-shaped bangs… but I just feel like they would date the pictures so much. One of the girls at work was like “DO A SUPER HOT PINK LIP IT LOOKS SO GOOD ON YOU!” Yeah, not for a wedding though. Eek! I feel like c-shaped bangs and hot pink lips would be the equivalent of super puffy sleeves from the 80s.

Leave a Reply

