Ha ha… happy.

3 Sep

Today in Starbucks, the barista asked me how I was living my life to make me so happy. She called it “infectious.” It was pretty great.

Funny thing is, just moments before entering the shop, I had been reflecting on what a rough year Steve and I had… how broke we were. Don’t get me wrong, we’re still broke… but we’re not so broke that we can’t pay the bills, which is how broke we used to be. So I did have this moment of pure, unadulterated happiness right before walking in the door, where I thought about how crap my job is and how crap my neighbourhood is and how I really don’t care, because we’re fine. Everything’s okay.

Sad that it boils down to money. However, I take solace in the fact that I’m not sad about still being under the poverty line, because we definitely are. I’m happy, really happy, because we have what we need to get by, so I can spend less time worrying and more time enjoying things. So even though it’s money bringing me that happiness, it’s not like I expect more money to bring me further happiness. This is probably it, on the happiness barometer, as far as having money goes.

Anyway. I’m glad I’m going around spreading infectious happiness.

Leave a Reply

