Bleeeh…

3 Jul

So it’s safe and fair to say that I’ve been feeling pretty low lately. I didn’t even want to go out and watch the fireworks on the 1st… normally, they’re an annual must-see. 


A lot of my awful mood can be chalked up to a particularly negative experience that I had with a customer on Tuesday night. I came home and started telling Steve the story and just burst into tears. She was an awful woman with a huge sense of entitlement who I will be quick to ignore should I ever see her in the shop again. I don’t know if that’s the right thing to do. Maybe she treats people badly because she needs more kindness in her life. But I’m just not a good enough person to run the risk of rewarding her if all that’s really going on is she’s a truly terrible person. 

To someone who enjoys working in sales, it probably wouldn’t have even been that bad an encounter. But I make no secret of the fact that I feel awkward trying to actively sell sell sell stuff… it’s a hell of a catch 22 because when I fail to make a good sale, I feel like I’m not doing my job, but when I succeed, I feel guilty about convincing someone to buy something they never wanted to begin with. Lots of my colleagues argue that it’s their choice to say yes or no to whatever it is I’m offering, but we’ve all been on the receiving end of the bargain before, and we all know full well how hard it is to just say no. You feel like you’re personally insulting the salesperson somehow, especially if they seem nice. So, every day that I work, I have to contend with this generally awkward feeling of wanting to be good at my job, but not wanting to take advantage of people… and then to deal with this awful, mean person on Tuesday… it’s enough to make me not want to go back at all. 

Which of course leads me to the question of what else there is to do instead. However, if nothing else, this has been a learning experience… I now know beyond a shadow of a doubt that whatever it is I choose to do in life, I want to be helping people as opposed to corporations. I’ve realized recently that a large part of my job is putting money in the hands of people who are already rich, which comes at the expense of my dignity as well as my personal sense of right-and-wrong. I’m not sure how much longer I can do that, how much more of myself I can give to help further someone else’s wealth, no matter how “green” or “humanitarian” said someone claims to be. 

Sorry to be such a downer; this is something that I would normally keep out of this blog. But at this point, nobody’s really reading it anyway, so no harm, no foul, I suppose! 
3 Responses to “Bleeeh…”

  1. Adam M July 12, 2009 at 11:52 pm #

    I did not go to the fireworks.

    There was no way.

    I never try to sell people things they don’t want. 🙂 If you’re straight with them they appreciate it so much and develop a loyalty to your store and to you personally and that is mutually beneficial! Think of it as your future business. 🙂

    • beeks July 13, 2009 at 11:33 pm #

      Oh, I’ve always tried to adhere to that philosophy too… be honest, be friendly, be polite, and don’t be pushy. That’s something I’ll never change because I just don’t have it in me to be any other way. In other news, guess who got 54% on a mystery shop report today! The business world and I just don’t get along.

  2. Adam M July 15, 2009 at 6:00 am #

    54%?

    Didn’t you suggestive sell your promos? 😛

Leave a Reply

