Packing up and moving on…

13 Apr

Steve and I have begun to pack up the apartment. We’re moving back in with my parents for a few months as of April 25th. It’s a definite blow to the ego, but I’m trying to stay focussed on the positive. I’ll be living much closer to work, for example, so no longer will I need to wake up at 8 a.m. for a 10 a.m. shift. My parents also live really close to Andrew Haydon Park and bike paths… so that could be fun. Also… can’t disregard the fact that we’ll be saving money. 


Things I need/want to save for:
– Our honeymoon.
– 1st and last for our next apartment.
– Some sort of classes… still haven’t decided what or where, but I’m going crazy! I NEED EXAMS! SOMEBODY TEST ME!!
– A gym membership… perhaps? 

Packing is definitely making me take stock of what we have. It’s overwhelming. I’m feeling a decided urge to pare down and simplify… but at the same time, I feel deeply emotionally attached to every mug emblazoned with Tinkerbell’s likeness, and every book, because, y’know, just because I haven’t cracked it in a year doesn’t mean I’ll never want to read it again! We’ll definitely be sacrificing some stuff when we leave, though… dishes my mom collected for me when I was 16 that I loved then but hate now, really bad hardcover books that I’m only keeping because I felt stupid I paid full sticker price for them, various lotions and potions that I bought on discount from the shop when I first started working there two xmases ago. 

In other news, I think it’s awesome that Blogger doesn’t account for the fact that the Brits et al. all spell things differently to the Yanks (i.e. if I spell the word “cancelling” as such, I get a big red line of NO! underneath, alerting me to the “error”), and yet it recognizes the word “xmases” as a reasonable approximation of a proper word. I think that says many telling things about the state of religion in our world today! But that’s a whole other post.
Leave a Reply

